What I Have Learned

Standard

My hope for the children and families from diverse backgrounds I work with is that they would always find a supportive, welcoming community at my school and in my classroom. I hope that these children and families would always find an advocate in me that they can turn to for help, support, and encouragement throughout their journeys.

My goal for the early childhood field in regards to issues of diversity, equity, and social justice is that professional development would be infused into regular staff training. It is necessary that not only classroom teachers, but paraprofessionals, aides, transportation staff, cafeteria staff, lunch staff, cleaning staff, and administration be properly trained and equipped with the knowledge of anti-bias education in order to better reach our students and families on a daily basis.

I want to thank each of my colleagues that I have worked alongside of throughout this course. Your transparency and encouragement have greatly aided in my journey of self-reflection and learning. Best regards to each of you in your careers; you are truly making a difference in the lives of children.

2 thoughts on “What I Have Learned

  1. Marguerite

    Hi Renee,
    You make a valid point about the need for all staff to be properly trained and equipped with the knowledge of anti-bias education. It would make a difference with students and families, and the staff members themselves. I have enjoyed reading your blog and discussion board posts. As you move forward in your educational journey and career, I wish you continued success. Have a wonderful Spring Break!

    Like

  2. Renee,
    I acknowledge the importance of having all staff trained in anti-bias education. Speaking from my experience as a classified member of my staff, I did not receive training or was a part of professional development that focused on this topic. I think it is extremely important for all adults working at a school to have this knowledge that way together we can form a more effective anti-bias environment for children and their families.

    Like

Leave a Reply

